Neighbors

Not more than two yards sticks separate our houses, and my neighbor takes advantage of that by spending the days nude.

My wife is decent enough, but even she can be tempted, titillated.

Mornings now when I come out of the shower she’ll glance at me from an angle in the mirror, not pausing with her makeup application. She takes her peek before I robe up and I see her mind making comparisons, calculations. At night she wants the light on now. When I ask why, she says she’s just trying to be neighborly.

Len Kuntz lives on a lake in rural Washington State with an eagle and three pesky beavers. His short fiction appears in places like Camroc Press Review, Right Hand Pointing and also at http://lenkuntz.blogspot.com.

This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

