Toy Sailboat

I started from a child’s hand
that launched me from the shore,
but soon left him behind me
and didn’t see him anymore.

I traveled with the current
for many a weary day
in this strange, new voyage
that led me far away.

I sailed through unknown waters
and often needed rest,
but in my ceaseless journey
on and on I pressed.

I reached another country
carried by the tide
and then sailed up a river
and stopped against its side.

Then a child’s hand found me
and took me for his own
and to my great relief
I finally was home.

Gary Beck has spent most of his adult life as a theater director and worked as an art dealer when he couldn’t earn a living in the theater. He has also been a tennis pro, a ditch digger and a salvage diver. His chapbook Remembrance was published by Origami Condom Press, The Conquest of Somalia was published by Cervena Barva Press, The Dance of Hate was published by Calliope Nerve Media and Material Questions was published by Silkworms Ink. Mutilated Girls is being published by Bedouin Press and Dispossessed is being published by Medulla Press. A collection of his poetry Days of Destruction was published by Skive Press. Another collection Expectations was published by Rogue Scholars Press. His original plays and translations of Molière, Aristophanes and Sophocles have been produced Off-Broadway and toured colleges and outdoor performance venues. His poetry has appeared in hundreds of literary magazines. He currently lives in New York City.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

