Moon

  • constancy
  • faithfulness
  • high fidelity
  • hi-fi
  • stereo
  • radio
  • transmitter/receiver
  • signaler
  • satellite
  • fickle
  • wavering
  • unbalanced
  • off-kilter
  • uneven
  • untidy
  • disorder
  • chaotic
  • madness

Moon

  • inconstant
  • changeable
  • malleable
  • flexible
  • supple
  • soft
  • quiet
  • tranquil
  • serene
  • orbit
  • revolution
  • coup
  • mutiny
  • rebellion
  • insubordination
  • defiance
  • recalcitrance
  • obstreperousness

Shelly Bryant splits her time between Singapore and Shanghai, working as a teacher, freelance writer, researcher, and student of Chinese language and culture. She is the author of two volumes of poetry, Cyborg Chimera and Under the Ash, and a travel guide to the city of Suzhou entitled Suzhou Basics. She loves to read, write, cycle, and travel, and enjoys the opportunities for all of these that her present migratory lifestyle affords. You can visit her website at http://web.me.com/shellybryant.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moon

  1. kvennarad says:

    Would you know what I meant if I said that what struck me about a particular poem was its familiarity? That doesn’t mean I have seen anything like this before although, now I come to think of it, this is very like a fragmented piece of ‘lithopoesis’ which I wrote in 2010. No, I think this piece is original and the feeling of ‘familiarity’ is more one of resonance than resemblance. I have read it over about ten times now, which is unusual for poetry posted on WordPress.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    writer/poet/editor/blogger
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

  2. Shelly says:

    Thanks so much, Marie.

    The form is one I came up with myself, derived from the earth element in Chinese thought. I call it the 4-point. I wrote an article about it that will be forthcoming in Scifaikuest in May 2012.

    I do know what you mean about the feeling of familiarity, even in an original piece. I am glad that this has achieved that feeling for you. It’s something one hopes to achieve in writing, and it’s nice to know that once in a while, a piece hits the mark, at least for one reader.

    Thanks for taking the time to read the poem so closely, and to leave such a thoughtful, encouraging comment.

    Shelly

  3. Shelly says:

    I’ve been reading information at your website about the ‘lithopoesis’. You’ve done some really intriguing work. I’m you pointed me to it.

    • kvennarad says:

      I wonder if you mean my old web site? A few months ago I moved my main site to the WordPress platform and revised all the contents. At one time I had a dedicated site for ‘lithopoesis’ ( http://lithopoesis.webs.com ) which may well still exist, though with adverts all over it because I have stopped paying for it. I had been thinking of migrating it to WordPress too, but the experiment is something which belongs to 2010 and besides that I don’t think I could find a WordPress within which I could use the necessary formatting. Anyhow, I’m very glad to have stimulated your interest.

      M

Leave a Reply

