Fire Once Lived

I slipped behind
the outcropping
like a black door.
The cavern moved
in the dark shape
of whales diving
to grave or birth.
In the entrance
like a familiar bed
I lay where a fire
once lived, still
each taken breath
charred my lungs
and nostrils.
Confined to become
my own guidance
without a pass
of safety,
I spread the ash
in an image book.

John Swain lives in Louisville, Kentucky. His work has recently appeared in vox poeticaThe Camel Saloon, and Flutter.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

