Terrorism Right Here At Home

My son says cops are the real terrorists.
“Here, just look at this,” he says, holding his phone out
so I can see the grainy video of police officers
throwing a black teenager on the ground
while stomping on his head repeatedly without mercy.
“There’s more,” my son says.
I wave him off.
I feel queasy and guilty for some reason.
“312 African Americans have been killed by cops so far this year.
312! And it’s only July!”
He waits for me to reply, but I don’t know what to say
any more than I did when he was a toddler and
his mother passed away.
Finally I offer up, “It’s awful.”
He smiles then, for the first time in years.
“Yeah,” he says, “and they’re going to pay.”

Len Kuntz is an writer from Washington State and the author of the story collection, The Dark Sunshine, from Connotation Press. Additionally, he’s an editor at the online lit zine Literary Orphans. You can find him at http://lenkuntz.blogspot.com.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Terrorism Right Here At Home

  1. Disturbing and well-written, Len Kuntz.

Leave a Reply

