In Answer to a Question About Love

I can explain that one night my mother said, I’m Jesus’ wife.

I can explain that one night, when some guy pulled a gun, my father grabbed him by the throat.

It’s the only version I get to keep, but it always turns wrong.

Somebody else always has some one night I’ve never heard before.

Recent work by A. E. Clark has appeared or is forthcoming in Mid-American Review, Rust + Moth, Menacing Hedge, and Witness. Her chapbook Addresses Home is forthcoming from Finishing Line Press (2015). Her website: http://www.aeclarkwriter.com.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Answer to a Question About Love

  1. wwwpalfitness says:

    Reblogged this on wwwpalfitness.

Leave a Reply

