Shirts

First Shirt

The unlinked cuffs of my father’s
starched white sleeves roll
up boy-thin sunburned arms.
I skip along and drag his tails behind,
sanding his shirt in shore foam
shimmer, Ocean City flecks of mica.

Lust Shirt

Our smell is tee shirt need and sweat –
a tuxedoed boy rips pearled stud buttons
from the stiff placket of my shirt.
Black silk bowtie, undone around my neck –
I squeeze the wiry ginger of his crotch as he floats
kisses in the dip behind my collarbone.

Loss Shirt

The rain spits my shirt to bare pink skin.
Beads of water tremble our favorite flowers.
I run a graveyard lawn as cold mist rises
from the grass and through my veins.
I tear the proper cotton from my chest,
press my solitary body to mossed stone.

Last Shirt

Tomorrow, I will button a white shirt.
It will hang on bone, slope with shoulder,
and hold its form. I will not roll French cuffs
to my bicep, or dance with shirttails through sand,
or sniff for kisses beneath my collar, or run
in rain, or scout a shirtless figure in the haze.

Robert Carr is the author of Amaranth, a chapbook accepted for publication in 2016 by Indolent Books. His poems are published or forthcoming in a variety of publications including The Pickled Body, Bewildering Stories, Front Porch Review, Canary and numerous other publications. He lives in Malden, Massachusetts.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shirts

  1. Swapnil says:

    This was quite good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

