When I Was Young

When I was young
young people knew how to be heard.
Shredded jeans and Kool-Aid-stained T-shirts
sported us, acceptance.
Today, we bruise the face of time
in hopes to be noticed.
We collect a pension of happiness
through someone else’s misery
and fold our hand because it was dealt with a pure one.

When I was young
old people were the coolest.
Shrewdest and crudest maybe
but cool.
Today we pack them inside homes
and neglect them.

When I was young
demons existed everywhere
along with angels to kill the fear.
God was on high not only because we needed him
but because we wanted him.

When I was young
a pocket of change could supply change in a homeless man’s life.

When I was young
music had meaning.
It stirred emotions so deep in our souls,
we could tunnel from song to song and never want to emerge.

When I was young
I always wanted to visit the past,
and patch the holes left by our forefathers.
Redeem the broken and tear down the walls of agony.

When I was young
I wanted acceptance,
but accessed it in the wrong manner.
I pigeon-toed my way through a people’s hearts,
hoping to be caged into acceptance.

When I was young
I needed a swift kick in the pants,
to remind me that pain is in everything we do.

When I was young
a chapter in a book took half an hour

but lasted a lifetime.

Levi J. Mericle is a poet/spoken word artist and lyricist from Tucumcari, NM. Currently he is associated with the New Mexico State Poetry Society and gives readings from his work. His work has appeared in multiple anthologies and his work can also be seen in multiple lit magazines and journals such as Black Heart Magazine, Mused – the BellaOnline Literary Review, 101 Words, Eunoia Review, The Awakenings Review, Penhead Press, Zaira Journal and more. Levi spends his days daydreaming about poetry and writes, at least a little bit every single day no matter what.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

