Creationism

In the beginning I snapped a wishbone
into uneven pieces. I cleaved

the new earth into two bowls
and circled them with the menstrual blood

of my daughter, the milk from her breast.
She fled, looked to be filled again.

I fed the first beasts with rivers of milk
and licked man from blocks of ice,

tongue parting the frost to reveal hair, head, body.
I taught man how to make houses, bodies

and how to make houses from bodies.
And we still practice today—forearm shelves,

railroad tracks from spines.
Man went in search of a being less full than himself

and found my daughter.
And man filled the house and my daughter.

All the bodies said “It is good” and slept.
I tore pellets

from the mouths of hills and watched
the abundance of houses take form below.

Aidan Forster is the blog editor of The Adroit Journal and the co-founder/managing editor of The Adroit Journal. He has work in The Adroit Journal, Assaracus, DIALOGIST, Tinderbox Poetry Journal, Two Peach, and Verse, among others.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

