Taking the river home

I took a section of river
home with me and
kept it in my sink.
In its brown body
I saw a small alewife.
My kitchen was full
of its life. My heart ex-
panded also. One night the
moon stood on my stoop
and knocked lightly.
I knew borrowing the river
was wrong but I could not
admit it. I turned out
the light and crouched in a
corner. I could hear the
alewife softly warbling to
the moon and the
moon’s insistent replies:
cold, hard and timeless.

Corey Mesler has been published in numerous anthologies and journals including Poetry, Gargoyle, Five Points, Good Poems, American Places, and Narrative 4. He has published 9 novels, 4 short story collections, and 5 full-length poetry collections. His novel, Robert Walker, is just out from Livingston Press. He’s been nominated for the Pushcart many times, and 2 of his poems were chosen for Garrison Keillor’s The Writer’s Almanac. With his wife he runs a 140-year-old bookstore in Memphis. He can be found at https://coreymesler.wordpress.com.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking the river home

Leave a Reply

