Night with Tongues

I want to get into a fight
About how we never get into fights.
You look happy!
You look happier!
Fuck you, I love you!
Fuck you harder, I love you more!
I’ve decided that thinking is no longer healthy.
Dreaming is even worse.
I wonder if my therapist has a therapist
And if so, does she complain to her
Therapist about me?
I hope she gets into fights
With her therapist about how we never
Get into fights.
They never fucking fight!
They are so fucking cute every
Panda took cyanide!
Remember when you came over
Dressed like an empty medicine cabinet?
It was the night of the almost
Kiss, so long I took a nap
In the middle and woke up
Diagramming the formation
Of tongues.

C. J. Miles lives in Iowa with his wife. His poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Forage, Star*Line, Amaryllis, and Algebra of Owls. Follow him on Twitter at @cjmilespoet.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Night with Tongues

  1. Helen burke says:

    A fabulous poem cj miles. Are u on facebook, would love to comment 9n yr work further, its fab. I am a poet in england with several books and a collection due out soo . Best regards helen bufke

  2. cjmilespoet says:

    Hi Helen, thank you! That means so much! I am not on Facebook, but if you want to reach out, my email is chancemiles015[at]gmail[dot]com. I also have a website: https://cjmilespoet.wordpress.com/. Hope to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

