It’s Natural

I used to think that it was silly
that my dog would always
bring me her toy
and present it to me
always so proud of herself
It seemed so primal, so base
I changed my mind today
when I returned from Costco
and started pulling items from the bag
showing my wife what I’d bought
And I swear my dog
was staring at me as I did it

Jason Fisk is a husband to one, a father to three, and a teacher to many. He currently lives and writes in the suburbs of Chicago. His long list of employment before becoming a teacher includes working as a mental health professional in a psychiatric unit, working as a line worker in a kitchen cabinet-making factory, and mixing cement and putting up scaffolding for a bricklayer. He was born in Ohio, raised in Minnesota, and has spent the last half of his life living in or around Chicago.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

