Unilluminated

            after an evening on the Drillfield

A thousand points of light, his
father said. And I see them,
end over end over end. Above
my head, at my feet, flowing
past me like a new river
created from bodies. Your
body I am trying to locate,
digging everywhere.
Someone has hidden it.
I refuse to believe you
are unfindable. I refuse
to believe I have swallowed
you whole. The trample
and the silence bind us
seamless. When she said
I was a liar and a spy,
I laughed it off. Now I know
she was right.

Josette Torres received her MFA in Creative Writing from Virginia Tech. She also holds a BA in English and Creative Writing from Purdue University. Her work has previously appeared in *82 Review, escarp, The New Verse News, Eunoia Review, and elsewhere. She is currently a doctoral student in cultural thought in the ASPECT Program at Virginia Tech.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

