What is the ultimate time limit…

What is the ultimate time limit?
The point is that a simple reference to the mental as a fundamental explanatory device gets
            us nowhere unless we carefully study our uses of language concerning the mental
            itself.
It also makes the text an object― both physically and metaphorically― which is an
            important critical position to occupy.
Not that this accomplishes it. There are times I, myself, wish I had something of the sort to
            be a part of.
There’s a social dynamic under that that I will never quite “get.”
So perhaps you are a good example for others.
I’d never really thought of the parable in such mathematically pure terms, which gives it a
            little renewed excitement.
Boss man with over inflated ego hovering around me now.
Or such nonsense. Hmm…
OK, whatever makes you feel better.

Note on the Text

Correspondences is composed of 62 poems assembled while cleaning out personal email ahead of a swift termination date at an old job. It took 11 hours and 46 minutes. I don’t know why I timed it. I was thinking about my time there as congealed labor, though I didn’t do much of anything for 20 hours a week in my hidden cubicle. All lines are written by correspondents to me (and so “found” in a specific sense, perhaps “addressed” would be a better term). I normalized the punctuation and capitalization a bit for consistency. Only one line was taken from any given email. Many poets’ prose is poached here, but none from the Atlanta group (where I would read this material as soon as it was written).

John Lowther’s work appears in the anthologies The Lattice Inside (UNO Press, 2012) and Another South: Experimental Writing in the South (University of Alabama Press, 2003), and Stone, River, Sky: An Anthology of Georgia Poems (Negative Capability Press, 2015). Held to the Letter, co-authored with Dana Lisa Young, is forthcoming from Lavender Ink. His website: http://lowtherpoet.wordpress.com.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

