Recipe – Smoothie

For you, I will drink poetry.
I will dice the stanzas,
skin the metres,
squish the similes,
water down the metaphors,
blend the rhymes,
and like a parched wanderer,
drink every single drop of
poetry that remotely reminds
me of you, even if it
is green and muddy and
leaves a sour, bitter taste on
my tongue which begs my
eyes to water and my heart
to wither.
I will consume every poem,
every song, every novel but
I will not write. I will not
allow words to flow from
my fingertips.

For you, my heart will not bleed
a single drop of poetry.

Ella Wee is a young, aspiring poet who writes what her heart wants her to write. She hopes that one day she will be someone whose words will resonate with and touch others just like how poets such as E. E. Cummings and Sylvia Plath have touched her.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe – Smoothie

  1. Ali Grimshaw says:

    I enjoyed this very much. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Irene Ioannou says:

    Nice!

Leave a Reply

