Fences

I am not a horse nor a rabbit and when the sunset kisses the old wood I realize the sweetness of the fence-less life, but when all these horses with their heroes stand on my back, at that time I will remember our war’s children. You know, the grass is green and the horses are attractive, but who will love my small rabbit. Because of this, I will die alone in a dark soul away from your hard fences and bitter hints. I will live in the horse’s forehead, behind the lovely fences. I mean behind any heartiness.

Anwer Ghani is an Iraqi poet and writer. He was born in 1973 in Al Hillah. His work has appeared in Adelaide, Peacock Journal, Otoliths, Algebra of Owls, and others. He has also featured in the Inner Child Press series, The Year of the Poet. Ghani is the founder of Expressive Narratives Group and the chief editor of Arcs, an expressive narratives magazine. He has written forty books of poetry, literature, and religious sciences in Arabic. His website: Anwer Ghani Writings

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

