The Form of Faith

Just
when I thought
love
was a headcase

I
fell

and it was dark
you
laughed
I skinned my knee
people do dumb things

I’m human
which means nothing
you left me at a gas station
I wish I took the time to learn your last name

I
think it rhymed with causality
things
were dark
it made me happy
I survived
your
down torrent

climbed inside outlaw slogans

I’ve never failed you.
I
hear
the sound.

It’s hard
to tell

the distance left to fall
before hitting ground.

James Diaz is the founding editor of the literary arts & music journal Anti-Heroin Chic. His work has appeared most recently in HIV Here & Now, Foliate Oak Literary Magazine, Chronogram Magazine, and Psaltery & Lyre. His first book of poems, This Someone I Call Stranger, is forthcoming from Indolent Books in 2017.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

