Come Find Me

(For Craig)

Come find me,
I am sitting in the back,
my head tipped down
over a book.

Come find me,
I am at my table alone.
The salsa I am eating
is too spicy.

Come find me,
I am looking for
a face with creases
still furrowed from the night.

Come find me,
I am not in need
but my falafel
is enormous.

Come find me,
I am in samsara.
A new cycle
is beginning to turn.

Come find me,
I am drinking coffee
and gazing at a poster
of noir classics.

Come find me,
I am below the speakers
they are playing the Beatles,
and I think of Italy.

Come find me,
I am near the brochures.
There will be art classes
coming this spring.

Janette Schafer is a playwright, poet, and opera singer from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. She is a 2017 awardee of the Maenad Fellowship in writing through Chatham University and a 2015 awardee of the Arts MODE Fellowship through New Sun Rising LLC for playwriting and experimental theater. Recent and upcoming publications appear in Zany Zygote ReviewEyedrum Periodically, Nasty Woman & Bad Hombre Anthology, The Woman Inc., B. E. Literary Journal, Big Lit International Writing Festival, and Chatham University broadsides.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

