A Sky Full of Shadowy Beasts

Looking out the kitchen window, I
run my eye over the remoteness of
the back yard & take an inventory

of what remains the same…
The way the watering can never moves
from its station beneath the crabapple

tree, or the wheelbarrow turned on
its side, where our red & brown chickens
scratch inside its bunker full of last

fall’s leaves. Tell me, who comes
to judge this yard gone numb? What
motivation would change this?

I’m at a loss in the world that has
made me heavy as a stone marker.
Nothing is sacred, not even this.

M. J. Iuppa’s third full-length poetry collection Small Worlds Floating was published by Cherry Grove Collections in July 2016. For the past 28 years, she has lived on a small farm near the shores of Lake Ontario.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sky Full of Shadowy Beasts

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this excellent blog!

    I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and
    will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  2. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am
    experiencing difficulties with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot join it.
    Is there anyone else having the same RSS problems?
    Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

