I am the Lion in the story

The padmarks on the tiles lead
to a door with a window
of gauze. I gaze at my feet
– all rough, hairy, the grass
of the savannah between my toes.
As I shake my head I hear
the heat bristle, a rumble
from the gut of the earth.

In the larder the hocks of ham
hang, my nose knows their like,
my mouth leaks as I move
towards the brick pattern of light
that falls on a dish of olives,
tomatoes halved – sliced
in crowns (no doubt for a king),
and chips, lightly fried, laid out on a plate.

Alison Lock’s poetry and short stories have appeared in anthologies and journals in the UK and internationally. Her first poetry collection, A Slither of Air, was winner of the Indigo Dreams Poetry Collection Competition 2010; her second, Beyond Wings, was published in 2015. She is the author of a short story collection, and a fantasy novel, Maysun and the Wingfish (Mother’s Milk Books, 2016). Her website: http://www.alisonlock.com.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

