Emptiness

It’s putting my son’s dog to sleep
that keeps me up at night
listening to the sound of a dog
not barking.

Or perhaps it’s the boxes
carefully packed, specifically labeled,
huddled together for comfort
in the downstairs bedroom,

Maybe it’s knowing someone not me
will put their worn-out books
in my office, their dishes in my cabinets,
their lives on my walls.

Carefully folded, wrapped in yesterday’s
newspaper, I am the last to go.
Dressed in cardboard, identified
with a fine-point, black Sharpie,
all that is left of what used to be me.

Sheri Gabbert is a substitute teacher living in the Missouri Ozarks with her miniature schnauzer, Rilke. Her work has appeared in Moon City Review (2011/2017), new graffiti, The Quotable, Rat’s Ass Review (Love & Ensuing Madness; Such an Ugly Time, issue and anthology), Communicators League, Drunk Monkeys, Serving House Journal, 417 Magazine, Street Buzz, and the Lawrence County Record.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

