Making Progress

I might timeline the sequence of events,
find comfort in the linear mapping—
the kind of progress I can walk across,
outrunning my youthful indiscretions,
chasing success by decades.

I might fill the gaps as I go:
Like a white canvas, the artist adds
trees and other green gifts.

I might offer yesterday’s errands,
next Monday’s morning coffee.

I might honor the landscape,
treasure the scenery that sets us.

Emily Reid Green’s poetry has appeared in Gravel, Khroma, The Ekphrastic Review, The Font, and Common Threads. This spring, she was a sponsored poet with Tiferet Journal. She lives with her family in Ohio.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Progress

  1. JJH says:

    The rhythm of the last line is like a royal procession, perfectly paced to the sense of a poem that speaks to desire for order.

Leave a Reply

