You Were How I Skipped Class & Still Passed Anatomy

Should I introduce myself or will my confusion do it for me?
Ten years later & I still don’t know which pill
I’m supposed to take first, so I take all four at the same
time & give a wink to the future I forget
I’m waiting for. The woman I will always be in
love with is on the other side of the room,
practicing a magic trick where all of her clothes
fall off & forget how to get back on.
When did they stop putting black hats on the bad guys?
Why does love grow wings even when you don’t ask it to?
So I ask: will I always fear what I love most?
& what is to come when nothing is promised?

Gregory Sherl is the author of a novel, The Future for Curious People, and three collections of poetry. His newest collection, What Is Anything Without Pandas, is forthcoming later this year.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

